
FORM

6XN
Amended Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement

for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales

 Name Name

 Address Address

 City State Zip Code City State Zip Code

 Vehicle Make Model Year Body Type Vehicle ID Number (VIN)

 Purchase Date County in Which Original Form 6 Was Filed  Date Original Form 6 Was Filed

sign
here Signature of Purchaser or Agent of Purchaser Date

Email Address Daytime Phone Number

6-163-1975 Rev. 6-2022
Supersedes 6-163-1975 Rev. 6-2021

 1 Total sales price . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  1

 2 Less trade-in allowance. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  2
 3 Less manufacturer’s rebate assigned to dealer at
  time of sale . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  3
 4 Tax base (line 1 minus lines 2 and 3) (if zero or less, 
  enter -0-) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  4

 5 Nebraska sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate). . . .  5

 6 Local sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate) . . . . . . .  6
  7 Total Nebraska and local sales or use tax due (line 5
  plus line 6). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  7
 
 8 Tire fee (Number of new tires _____ multiplied by $1) . .  8

 9 Penalty for late payment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  9

 10 Interest for late payment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  10

 11 Balance Due (total of lines 7, 8, 9, and 10) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  11
Under penalties of law, I declare that I have examined this statement and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is 

correct and complete.

 Purchaser’s Name and Address Seller’s Name and Address

Amended (A) Original (B) Difference (C)

 For County or DOR Use Only

$_____________________

Tax Paid

_______________________
Date Paid



Instructions 
Who May File. Any person needing to change their original Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for 
Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales, Form 6, may file this form. Form 6XN is completed only if additional sales and use 
tax or tire fee is due.

If you need information about requesting a refund of sales and use tax or tire fee, contact the Nebraska Department 
of Revenue (DOR) at 800-742-7474 (NE and IA), or 402-471-5729.

When and Where to File. Form 6XN may be filed at any time after you have filed your original Form 6. This 
amended statement, properly signed and accompanied by remittance, must be filed with the county treasurer in the 
county where the original Form 6 was filed or with the DOR.

Collection of Penalty and Interest. If the total sales or use tax and tire fee are not paid within 30 days of the purchase 
date, the county treasurer or the DOR will assess and collect penalty and interest at the statutory rate. If you have 
any questions regarding  the purchase date, or penalty and interest rates, please contact your  local county treasurer’s 
office or the DOR at 800-742-7474 (NE and IA) or revenue.nebraska.gov.

Email. By entering an email address, the taxpayer acknowledges that the DOR may contact the taxpayer by email. 
The taxpayer  accepts any risk to confidentiality associated with this method of communication. The DOR will send all 
confidential information  by secure mail or the State of Nebraska’s file share system. If you do not wish to be contacted 
by email, write “Opt Out”  on the line labeled “email address.”

Retention. Purchasers must retain a copy of the Form 6XN and the receipt that documents sales tax was paid for a 
minimum of three years. If a refund claim is filed or petition for redetermination of a deficiency determination is open 
to assessment you must keep the Form 6XN and registration receipt until resolved.

Specific Instructions
Column A. Complete this column by entering the corrected figures.

Column B. Complete this column by entering the figures as originally reported on Form 6.

Column C. Complete this column by entering the difference between the corrected figures and the original figures. 
For each line, subtract Column B from Column A.

Line 11 Balance Due. The amount reported on line 11 must be collected by the county treasurer or the DOR. 

Validation. A signed copy of this form must be receipted by the county or DOR in the space provided  for validation 
and returned to the purchaser.
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