NEBRASKA- Nebraska Dyed Diesel
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DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

This guidance document is advisory in nature but
is binding on the Nebraska Department of Revenue
(Department) until amended. A guidance document
does not include internal procedural documents that
only affect the internal operations of the Department and
does not impose additional requirements or penalties
on regulated parties or include confidential information
or rules and regulations made in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this
guidance document imposes additional requirements
or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a
review of the document.

Diesel fuel that is untaxed and intended solely for non-
highway purposes contains red dye. Using dyed diesel
fuel in a motor vehicle that is registered, or required
to be registered for operation on the highway, subjects
the registered owner of the motor vehicle to a penalty.

Any law enforcement officer, carrier enforcement
officer, or any agent of the Department who has
reasonable grounds to suspect a violation of this
law, may inspect the fuel in the fuel supply tank of
any motor vehicle to determine compliance. Fuel
inspections may also be conducted in the course of
safety or other inspections.

Any person who violates any provision of this law or
who refuses to permit an inspection shall be guilty
of a Class IV misdemeanor and shall be subject to
a penalty. The amount of the penalty ranges from
$250 to $2,500 depending upon the existence of
previous violations.

The sample of fuel taken from this motor vehicle
will be tested for the presence of red dye. If red dye
is detected in the sample, a penalty will be assessed.
The penalty assessment will be in the form of a letter
issued by the Department. It will explain your options
for payment or appeal and the time frames you must
follow. No action regarding this penalty is required on
your part until this letter is received.

You may be subject to an additional federal penalty.
The results of this test will be shared with the IRS who
may issue a separate penalty against you. This federal
penalty, if issued, is separate and distinct from the
state penalty and must be treated accordingly.

If you have any questions regarding the Nebraska
penalty, please contact the person designated in the
letter you receive in the mail.

3-460-1997 Rev. 12-2016 Supersedes 3-460-1997 Rev. 11-2009



